A New Kind Of Loneliness
  Michael Weston King   Michael Weston King
RELEASE# 703071 001623

Compact Disc
In Stock
buy now

1 - Here’s the Plan
2 - The Last Hurrah
3 - Saturday’s Child
4 - My Heart Stopped Today (featuring Chris Hillman & Herb Pedersen)
5 - This Man Can Break So Easily
6 - Lost
7 - Only Seven Days
8 - Rosenkrantz & Kristiansgate
9 - Let the Waves Break
10 - From Out of the Blue (featuring Ron Sexsmith & Don Kerr)
11 - Alone Again Naturally
12 - It Will End In Tears

Bonus Tracks:
13 - She Is Still My Weakness (demo version)
14 - The Brightest Spark (demo version)


Born in Southport, England Michael Weston King put a down payment on his first Fender Telecaster at the age of 16. Stating his early influences as Gram Parsons, Hank Williams, The Byrds and Marc Bolan, he cut his musical teeth in various bands on the periphery of the late 70s / early 80s Liverpool scene.

Michael had several recording deals that never bore fruit. Michael recalls, “numerous managers tried to steer me in a direction I hated, so I took my acoustic guitar and headed for the folk clubs."

Eventually inspired by overseas bands such as REM and The Triffids, as well as the new wave of country acts such as Lyle Lovett, Dwight Yoakham, and Nanci Griffith, he joined forces with some like minded souls and over 4 years he performed over 250 shows throughout Europe with the band Gary Hall and the Stormkeepers. Along the way, they released two albums and two singles, one for the major label BMG before going their separate ways in 1991.

Michael’s next step was to hand pick the best musicians out of a clutch of country-influenced rock bands to offer up an authentic British alternative to, what for them, was the most exciting form of music currently on offer and hailing from America, the burgeoning Alternative Country movement. His new line up would be called The Good Sons.

Beginning with shows in Ireland and various low key gigs in the North of England as they honed Michael Weston King's songs, Michael remembers, “I wanted to combine my love of songwriters such as Elvis Costello, Tom Waits, Bruce Springsteen, and Townes Van Zandt with the contemporary country rock feel of The Jayhawks."

In 1995 they released their debut album Singing the Glory Down. The album also featured a guest appearance by the legendary Townes van Zandt on Michael’s song "Riding the Range". A few months before his death Townes cut his own version of the song with Nashville bluegrass band The Calvins.

The band continued to tour and in 1996 they released the much more acoustic orientated album The Kings Highway, a chilling collection of intimate songs, mostly written during Michael's wilderness years in the folk clubs. 1997 saw the band release the bigger, bolder and altogether harder rockin’, Wines Lines and Valentines.

Eventually, Wines Lines and Valentines was both repackaged and retitled, Angels in the End and released in America. Michael came across the pond for whole round of press interviews and radio sessions, as well as various solo performances, including sharing the stage at the annual SXSW festival with Billy Bragg, Loudon Wainwright and Nick Lowe.

When Michael returned home the talk was of a full scale tour of the US with the band later in the year. However, while on tour in Germany, following a hugely successful performance at the Orange Blossom Festival, the band’s tour bus was involved in a 60mph head-on smash which left Michael in hospital and the band's equipment, not to mention finances in tatters. They limped back to the UK to play a rousing set at Glastonbury, (with borrowed equipment!) and then headed to Norway to appear at the Down on the Farm Festival before disbanding.

As he had done before, he grabbed his acoustic guitar and fled. Not to some dusty folk clubs this time, but to Switzerland for a cathartic spell of writing, and then onto South Wales to record what would become his debut solo album, God Shaped Hole. Michael embark on a series of European solo tours holding opening slots with Ron Sexmith, Steve Forbert, Chris Hillman and Nick Cave.

In April 2000 The Good Sons reconvened in the idyllic surrounds of Snowdonia and recorded recording what would become their fourth album... the perversely titled Happiness.

"We had always recorded in Manchester and when we finished for the day we went home, this time I wanted us all together, All the time... no distractions, God knows there have been enough! So we went to Bryn Derwen for three weeks and lived and breathed the album. We walked through the woods to the pub, played football on the lawns of the studio owner’s house, we had fun, and made our best album.” Happiness was released in spring 2001.

After another Good Sons tour across the UK and Europe, Michael ended the year with a solo tour of Italy and then he released Live ...….. in Dinky Town, a collection of live solo performances recorded at various venues across Europe and America.

Soon, songs for the album, A Decent Man, were taking shape. Produced by Jackie Leven, the record received great reviews and Michael spent much of the year touring to support the release. 2005 brought a retrospective album focusing on King’s solo work called The Tender Place. It also included two previously unreleased recordings, 'From Out Of The Blue” and “A Simple Twist of Fate”.

Now step into the future as Poptown Records presents A New Kind Of Loneliness, the newest and most promising release from British singer/song writer Michael Weston King!